PLAYGROUND ART PRIZE 2022

25.06.2022 - 23.07.2022

 

 

Playground Art Prize 2022

Since 2016, the PLAYGROUND exhibition series has offered young artists* the ideal opportunity to present their work to a broad audience and make their first contacts in the art world. In 2022, GALERIE VON&VON is calling on students from academies and art schools throughout Germany to apply for the PLAYGROUND ART PRIZE for the fourth time. For this we were able to win an independent jury.

The winners of the 4th PLAYGROUND ART PRIZE:

Still from the video work "The Suicide of Suanne Kuhn", 2022

Vincent Hannwacker 

Vincent Hannwacker is in his 8th semester at the Academy of Fine Arts in Munich, studying media art with Julian Rosenfeldt. Hannwacker works with the media of film and video. In "The Suicide of Susanne Kuhn" he confronts the subject of suicide, which is neither romanticized nor psychologized here. The aim is to question the often simplified psychologization of characters in mainstream cinema.

 

Still from the video work "Bóng Xà Bông", 2021

Phạm Nguyễn Anh Tú

Phạm Nguyễn Anh Tú is a visual artist from Vietnam. He is a 6th semester student at the Städelschulel under Willem de Rooij. Tú's work focuses on themes of queer identity and features playful scenes, reveries, and inner dialogue. Through a combination of animated collages and chroma-key compositing, dream-like states are mimicked and brought to the viewer's consciousness.

 

 


Installation view "Gartenparty", 2020 

Isabella Brahm 

Isabella Brahm studies in the 11th semester at the Berlin University of the Arts with Manfred Pernice. Brahm's works stand for the representation of different areas of life and the habitual objects and objects that appear in them. Brahm pays particular attention to front yards and gardens, houses and apartments, tennis courts and golf courses, furniture and figures. In addition to the representation of a narrative, material and form play a major role. It is important for Brahm to work out what the 'allegories' of certain places are in the first place.

In 2022 the following jurors awarded the PLAYGROUND ART PRIZE:
          

Dr. Nadia Ismail    
Art Gallery Giessen                                                                                                         

Nadia Ismail, born in 1975, holds a PhD in art history with a focus on contemporary art. From 2008 to 2014 she was a research assistant at the Institute for Art and Art Theory at the University of Cologne and worked as a freelance curator. Since 2018, she has been the director of Kunsthalle Gießen. In addition, she is a specialist curator of the art collection of the Landesbank Baden-Württemberg and acts as art commissioner of the state of Hesse for art-in-building projects. In addition, she is a lecturer at the Justus Liebig University Giessen and the University of the Arts in Berlin. 

 

Dr. Damian Lentini 
Haus der Kunst Munich

Damian Lentini is curator at the Haus der Kunst in Munich. He taught art history and theory of contemporary art at the University of Melbourne and worked on various exhibition projects in Australia and Germany. At Haus der Kunst he has been involved in exhibitions and publications with El Anatsui, Sarah Sze, Harun Farocki, Jörg Immendorff, Khvay Samnang, Raqs Media Collective and Forensic Architekture, among others.

 

Bärbel Vischer                                                                                                                                
Museum für angewandte Kunst Vienna                                                                         

Bärbel Vischer is a curator and art historian. At the MAK - Museum of Applied Arts in Vienna, she has been realizing exhibitions in the field of fine arts as well as at the interface with architecture since 2007 and has been curator of the MAK Contemporary Art Collection since 2011. She curated solo exhibitions by Raimund Abraham (2020), Thomas Bayrle (2017), Liam Gillick (2009), Sheila Hicks (2020), Walter Pichler (2011), Simon Starling (2008), Franz West (2008), Heimo Zobernig (2008), Pae White (2013), or Fincent Fecteau/Florian Pumhösl (2021) and has worked with artists* such as Leonor Antunes, Alexandra Bircken, Füsun Onur, Geta Brătescu, and Lilli Reynaud-Dewar, among others, in numerous group exhibitions.

 

Philipp Ziegler 
Zentrum für Kunst und Medien Karlsruhe

Philipp Ziegler is curator and head of the curatorial department at ZKM | Center for Art and Media Karlsruhe, Germany. In addition to his work at ZKM, he curated or co-curated international projects such as the ifa (Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen) exhibition Future Perfect.    Contemporary Art from Germany, which has toured internationally since 2013. In 2018, he was one of the curators of the 6th Guangzhou Triennial at the Guangdong Museum of Art, Guangzhou, China. Philipp Ziegler has published articles and essays in various journals and catalogs. He studied art history and history in Stuttgart, Germany, and Milan, Italy.

Photo: © Felix Grünschloss                                                                                                       

Leyla Yenirce – Winner of the PLAYGROUND ART PRIZE 2021 – in interview
Request

PLAYGROUND ART PRIZE 2022

25.06.2022 - 23.07.2022

 

 

Playground Art Prize 2022

 

Seit 2016 bietet die Ausstellungsreihe PLAYGROUND jungen Künstler*innen die ideale Gelegenheit, ihr Werk einem breiten Publikum zu präsentieren und erste Kontakte in die Kunstwelt zu knüpfen. 2022 ruft die GALERIE VON&VON zum vierten Mal deutschlandweit an Akademien und Kunsthochschulen Studierende auf, sich um den PLAYGROUND ART PRIZE zu bewerben. Für diesen konnten wir eine unabhängige Jury gewinnen. 

Die Gewinner des 4. PLAYGROUND ART PRIZE:
 


Still aus der Videoarbeit "Der Selbstmord der Suanne Kuhn", 2022

Vincent Hannwacker 

Vincent Hannwacker studiert im 8. Semester an der Akademie Der Bildenden Künste in München Medienkunst bei Julian Rosenfeldt. Hannwacker beschäftigt sich mit den Medien des Films und Videos. In "Der Selbstmord der Susanne Kuhn" stellt er sich dem Thema Suizid, der hier weder romantisiert, noch psychologisiert wird. Dabei soll die oft vereinfachte Psychologisierung von Figuren im Mainstream Kino hinterfragt werden. 
 

 


Still aus der Videoarbeit "Bóng Xà Bông", 2021

Phạm Nguyễn Anh Tú

Phạm Nguyễn Anh Tú ist ein visueller Künstler aus Vietnam. Er studiert im 6. Semester an der Städelschulel bei Willem de Rooij. Tú´s Arbeit konzentriert sich auf Themen der queeren Identität und zeigt spielerische Szenen, Träumereien und inneren Dialog. Durch die Kombination aus animierten Collagen und Chroma-Key-Compositing werden traumartige Zustände nachgeahmt und ins Bewusstsein der Betrachter*innen gerückt. 

 

 


Installationsansicht "Gartenparty", 2020 

Isabella Brahm 

Isabella Brahm studiert im 11. Semester an der Universität der Künste Berlin bei Manfred Pernice. Brahms Arbeiten stehen für die Darstellung unterschiedlicher Lebensbereiche und die darin auftretenden gewohnten Objekte und Gegenstände. Ein besonderes Augenmerk legt Brahm dabei auf Vorgärten und Gartenanlagen, Häuser und Wohnungen, Tennis- und Golfanlagen, Mobiliar und Figuren. Neben der Darstellung eines Narrativs spielen Material und Form eine große Rolle. Dabei ist Brahm wichtig herauszuarbeiten, was die 'Sinnbilder' bestimmter Orte überhaupt sind.

2022 haben folgende Juror*innen den PLAYGROUND ART PRIZE vergeben:
          

Dr. Nadia Ismail    
Kunsthalle Gießen                                                                                                         

Nadia Ismail, geboren 1975, ist promovierte Kunsthistorikerin mit Schwerpunkt auf Zeitgenössische Kunst. Von 2008 bis 2014 war sie wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am Institut für Kunst und Kunsttheorie der Universität zu Köln und arbeitete als freie Kuratorin. Seit 2018 leitet sie die Kunsthalle Gießen. Überdies ist sie Fachkuratorin der Kunstsammlung der Landesbank Baden-Württemberg und fungiert als Kunstbeauftragte des Landes Hessen für Kunst-am-Bau Projekte. Darüber hinaus ist sie Lehrbeauftragte an der Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen und der Universität der Künste in Berlin.  
 

Dr. Damian Lentini 
Haus der Kunst München

Damian Lentini ist Kurator am Haus der Kunst in München. Er lehrte Kunstgeschichte und Theorie zeitgenössischer Kunst an der University of Melbourne und arbeitete an verschiedenen Ausstellungsprojekten in Australien und Deutschland. Im Haus der Kunst war er u.a. an Ausstellungen und Publikationen mit El Anatsui, Sarah Sze, Harun Farocki, Jörg Immendorff, Khvay Samnang, Raqs Media Collective und Forensic Architekture beteiligt.

 

Bärbel Vischer                                                                                                                                
Museum für angewandte Kunst Wien                                                                         

Bärbel Vischer ist Kuratorin und Kunsthistorikerin. Am MAK – Museum für angewandte Kunst in Wien realisiert sie seit 2007 Ausstellungen im Bereich bildende Kunst sowie an der Schnittstelle zu Architektur und leitet seit 2011 als Kustodin die MAK-Sammlung Gegenwartskunst. Sie kuratierte Einzelausstellungen von Raimund Abraham (2020), Thomas Bayrle (2017), Liam Gillick (2009), Sheila Hicks (2020), Walter Pichler (2011), Simon Starling (2008), Franz West (2008), Heimo Zobernig (2008), Pae White (2013) oder Fincent Fecteau/Florian Pumhösl (2021) und arbeitete unter anderem mit Künstler*innen wie Leonor Antunes, Alexandra Bircken, Füsun Onur, Geta Brătescu oder Lilli Reynaud-Dewar in zahlreichen Gruppenausstellungen.

 

Philipp Ziegler 
Zentrum für Kunst und Medien Karlsruhe

Philipp Ziegler ist Kurator und Leiter des Kuratorischen Bereichs am ZKM | Zentrum für Kunst und Medien Karlsruhe, Deutschland. Zusätzlich zu seiner Tätigkeit am ZKM kuratierte oder ko-kuratierte er internationale Projekte wie die Ausstellung des ifa (Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen) Future Perfect.                         Zeitgenössische Kunst aus Deutschland, die seit 2013 international auf Tournee ist. Im Jahr 2018 war er einer der Kuratoren der 6. Guangzhou Triennale im Guangdong Museum of Art, Guangzhou, China. Philipp Ziegler hat Artikel und Essays in verschiedenen Zeitschriften und Katalogen veröffentlicht. Er studierte          Kunstgeschichte und Geschichte in Stuttgart, Deutschland, und Mailand, Italien.                                                                                                    

Leyla Yenirce - Gewinnerin des PLAYGROUND ART PRIZE 2021 - im Interview
Anfragen