Positions Berlin

15.Sep - 18.Sep 2022

For its ninth edition, POSITIONS Berlin will once again move to Hangar 5 & 6 at Berlin-Tempelhof Airport and offer its visitors an attractive supporting program as an official partner of the Berlin Art Week, which is taking place at the same time.

Artists: Laura Aberham, Gunda Förster, Constantin Schroeder, Leszek Skurski

Location: Flughafen Tempelhof – Hangar 3 & 4
Columbiadamm 10, 10965 Berlin

 

Gunda Förster

MAGIE

Neon, blue discharge, transparent tube

40 x 80 cm

€ 7.000,00

Gunda Förster

LEUCHTOBJEKT #1

Acrylic glass, LED

70 x 50 cm

€ 15.000,00

Constantin Schroeder

CONTEMPLATION

130 x 130 cm

€ 8.800,00

Laura Aberham

DEEP

Acrylic on canvas

100 x 80 cm

€ 4.500,00

Leszek Skurski

Orange Harbor

Acrylic on canvas

60 x 80 cm

€ 4.800,00

Leszek Skurski

Swimming Pool

Oil on canvas

80 x 120 cm

€ 6.800,00

Laura Aberham

The paintings created by the artist Laura Aberham, who lives and works in Düsseldorf, are defined by their color intensity and incredible dynamic. Her use of color and form is confident and extremely powerful, and her mostly large-scale, abstract works appear gestural and at the same time precisely composed. Laura Aberham's paintings are a tribute to color. With gestural, voluminous brushstrokes, she skillfully brings unusual color constellations onto the canvas in many layers; here, color itself becomes the concept. The artist, who graduated from the Kunstakademie in Düsseldorf as a master’s student under the direction of Ellen Gallagher, found her very own artistic style through her very physical approach to color. At the beginning of her studies, she attended sculpture classes, where she internalized her experiences with volume and dynamics. She continued to apply her experiences with structure, form, and space into her paintings. Due to their spatiality and physical dynamics, Laura Aberham's works appear to continue beyond the edge of the canvas into the space of the viewer.


To the artist page

Leszek Skurski

A vast, seemingly infinite plain forms the foundation for the scene: As if from nowhere, people appear on the surface of the image. They emerge from layers rich in nuances of light white or hazy gray, leaving plenty of room for interpretation. The artist Leszek Skurski, who is a native of Poland, repeatedly devotes his paintings to figurative storytelling. In his works, he depicts many stories, that remain open-ended and allow the most diverse interpretations. They are paintings depicting narratives that seem to have paused or stopped in action, and Skurski captures these forms with a narrative density. Many evanescent moments of our existence and interactions are captured on the canvas like excerpts or snapshots between their occurrence and disappearance. Hence, the images of the artist, who lives and works in Fulda, are reminiscent of film stills or still images that outline a content, character, or mood. 


To the artist page

Gunda Förster

Based on an expanded concept of the image, the light-space-movement and time in the network of relationships between art and everyday life are the fundamental aspects of Gunda Förster's artistic work. Her space-related works can be understood as painting with contemporary methods or places of body and space perception that play with spatial reflection, but also social and perceptual-psychological conditions from the most diverse creative means. An important element of her work is defining and breaking boundaries - the architecture of space, of the image, the boundary between art and everyday life, between art, architecture, design and advertising, practical and theoretical debate, product and process, private and public, and reality and appearance. The formal reduction of her works determines their symbolic quality. The significance is only revealed by linking the most diverse aspects and their meanings. Essentially, Gunda Förster’s works focus on the correspondence between light, space, movement, and time as aspects that are constantly present in everyday life as well as in art.


To the artist page

Constantin Schroeder

Constantin Schroeder's figurative paintings are impressive, moving images with a profound sense of depth. His pictorial protagonists are fascinating characters that never let us go. Internalizing the present with all its complexities, he uses a very reduced color palette. Mostly executed in large formats, the scenes captivate the viewer with their characteristic narratives. Schroeder reaches deep into the archive of the human psyche. His works reveal an enigmatic iconography, which includes young heroes posing interpersonal mysteries. The artist, who lives and works in Berlin and studied theology, philosophy, and art history, also illuminates the darker sides of life in an extraordinary, hyper-realistic style. These are powerful images that captivate us with their enigmatic pictorial content. Schroeder leaves some parts of the image white, which allows the viewer to develop his or her own interpretation and understanding of the image through open associations.


To the artist page
Request

Positions Berlin

15.Sep - 18.Sep 2022

Für ihre neunte Ausgabe zieht die POSITIONS Berlin erneut in den Hangar 5 & 6 des Flughafens Berlin-Tempelhof und bietet ihren Besuchern ein attraktives Rahmenprogramm als offizieller Partner der parallel stattfindenden Berlin Art Week.

Künstler: Laura Aberham, Gunda Förster, Constantin Schroeder, Leszek Skurski

Location: Flughafen Tempelhof – Hangar 3 & 4
Columbiadamm 10, 10965 Berlin

Gunda Förster

MAGIE

Neon, Blauentladung, transparentes Rohr

40 x 80 cm

€ 7.000,00

Gunda Förster

LEUCHTOBJEKT #1

Acrylglas, LED

70 x 50 cm

€ 15.000,00

Constantin Schroeder

CONTEMPLATION

Öl auf Leinwand

130 x 130 cm

€ 8.800,00

Laura Aberham

DEEP

Acryl auf Leinwand

100 x 80 cm

€ 4.500,00

Leszek Skurski

Orange Harbor

Acryl auf Leinwand

60 x 80 cm

€ 4.800,00

Leszek Skurski

Swimming Pool

Öl auf Leinwand

80 x 120 cm

€ 6.800,00

Laura Aberham

Die Bilder der in Düsseldorf lebenden und arbeitenden Künstlerin Laura Aberham definieren sich über ihre Farbintensität und eine unglaubliche Dynamik. Ihr Umgang mit Farbe und Form ist souverän und äußerst kraftvoll, ihre meist großformatigen, abstrakten Arbeiten wirken gestisch und gleichsam präzise komponiert. Laura Aberhams Malerei ist eine Hommage an die Farbe. Mit gestischen, voluminösen Pinselstrichen bringt sie in vielen Schichten ungewöhnliche Farbkonstellationen gekonnt auf die Leinwand, hier wird die Farbe selbst zum Konzept. Die Künstlerin, die an der Kunstakademie in Düsseldorf als Meisterschülerin bei Ellen Gallagher abgeschlossen hat, hat durch ihren sehr physischen Umgang mit Farbe eine ganz eigene Handschrift gefunden. Zu Beginn ihres Studiums besuchte sie die Skulpturenklasse, sie hat hier das Volumen und die Dynamik verinnerlicht, die Erfahrungen von Struktur, Form und Raum wendet sie in ihrer Malerei überzeugend an. Laura Aberhams Arbeiten scheinen sich, bedingt durch ihre Räumlichkeit und körperliche Dynamik, über den Bildrand hinaus fortzusetzen.


Zur Künstler Seite

Leszek Skurski

Eine weite, scheinbar grenzenlose Ebene bildet den Grund für das Geschehen: Wie aus dem Nichts tauchen Personen auf der Bildfläche auf, sie treten gleichsam aus nuancenreichen Schichten in lichtem Weiss oder dunstigem Grau hervor und lassen viel Raum für eine Deutung. Der aus Polen stammende Künstler Leszek Skurski widmet sich in seiner Malerei immer wieder der figurativen Erzählung. Er schildert in seinen Werken viele kleine und große Geschichten, die nach allen Seiten hin offenbleiben und unterschiedlichste Interpretationen erlauben. Es sind Bilder des Innehaltens und Verharrens in einer Handlung, aus einer Haltung heraus, die er in konzentrierter Form und narrativer Dichte einfängt. Viele sich verflüchtigende Augenblicke eines Daseins oder Miteinanders, die auf die Leinwand gebannt werden, wie Ausschnitte aus einer Sequenz, wie Momentaufnahmen zwischen ihrem Erscheinen und Verschwinden. So erinnern die Bilder des in Fulda lebenden und arbeitenden Künstlers an Filmstills oder Standbilder, die einen Inhalt, einen Charakter oder eine Stimmung umreißen.


Zur Künstler Seite

Gunda Förster

Ausgehend von einem erweiterten Bildbegriff sind Licht – Raum – Bewegung und Zeit im Beziehungsgeflecht zwischen Kunst und Alltag die grundlegenden Aspekte der künstlerischen Arbeit Gunda Försters. Ihre raumbezogenen Arbeiten verstehen sich zum einen als Malerei mit zeitgenössischen Mitteln – zum anderen als Orte der Wahrnehmung von Körper und Raum und spielen mit der Reflexion von räumlichen, aber auch sozialen und wahrnehmungspsychologischen Bedingungen von verschiedensten gestalterischen Mitteln. Ein wichtiger Aspekt ihrer Arbeit ist das Markieren und Auflösen von Grenzen – der Architektur des Raumes, des Bildes, der Grenze zwischen Kunst und Alltag, zwischen Kunst, Architektur, Design und Werbung, praktischer und theoretischer Auseinandersetzung, Produkt und Prozess, Privat und Öffentlich, Realität und Schein. Die formale Reduzierung ihrer Arbeiten bedingt deren Zeichenhaftigkeit. Der Sinn erschließt sich erst aus der Verknüpfung unterschiedlichster Aspekte und ihrer Bedeutungen. Grundsätzlich geht es in den Arbeiten von Gunda Förster um die Korrespondenz zwischen Licht – Raum – Bewegung – Zeit als Aspekte, die sowohl im Alltag als auch in der Kunst ständig gegenwärtig sind.


Zur Künstler Seite

Constantin Schroeder

Die figurati­ven Bilder Constantin Schroeders sind eindrucksvolle, berührende Bilder mit Tiefgang, seine Bildprotagonisten faszinierende Charaktere, die uns nicht mehr loslassen. Die Gegenwart mit all ihren Facetten verinnerlichend, benutzt er eine sehr reduzierte Farbpalette. Meist in großem Format ausgeführt, fesseln die Szenen den Rezipienten durch ihre charakteristische Erzählweise. Schroeder greift tief in das Archiv der menschlichen Psyche. Seine Werke zeigen eine rätselhafte Ikonografie, junge Heroen geben zwischenmenschliche Rätsel auf. Der in Berlin lebende und arbeitende Künstler, der Theologie, Philologie und Kunstgeschichte studiert hat, beleuchtet in einer außergewöhnlichen, hyperrea­listischen Handschrift auch die Schattensei­ten des Lebens. Es sind kraftvolle Bilder, die uns mit ihren rätselhaften Bildinhalten fesseln. Manche Bildpartien lässt Schroeder weiß, diese ermöglichen dem Betrachter durch offene Assoziationen eine eigene Interpretation und Lesbarkeit des Bildes.


Zur Künstler Seite
Anfragen